imbalance computer music | ICM-09 | out on 16 March 2018

CD / download / vinyl LP

Available on Bleep / boomkat / Hard Wax / iTunes

01 Excursion [listen to excerpt]
02 Observations [listen to excerpt]
03 The Landing [listen to excerpt]
04 Trois [listen to excerpt]
05 Darcy In Paradise [listen to excerpt]
06 Ntandathu [listen to excerpt]
07 Second Organ [listen to excerpt]
08 4.31 Hz [listen to excerpt]
09 Sept [Album Version] [listen to excerpt]
10 Perpetuate [listen to excerpt]

All tracks written and produced by Electric Indigo. (c) imbalance computer music 2017

Liner Notes by the artist:

Special thanks to Aiko Okamoto, Ani-Ruth K. Lugani, Angelika Lepper, Carla Santana, Christina Nemec, Eric Jung, Etapp Kyle, Heidi Mortenson, Hüseyin Evirgen, Jennifer Cardini, Johan Stephan, Jorge Sánchez-Chiong, Larissa Kapp, Lesego Sefako, Maja Osojnik, Marc Weidenbaum, Mieko Suzuki, Natalia Britos, Nicolas Canot, Paulo Martel, Pedro Pérez Pinedo & Efrén Pérez, Philisa Bidi, Rosa Danner, Rossella Melchionda, Siavaxshan Mirzaee, Vaiva Hawkins, Valeria Rueda, Willie Nurger and Wolfgang Dorninger for your voices on Trois! I loved working having you around :-)

Another big thank you goes out to Sadie Plant for the her voice and the inspiration for Perpetuate. “To let noise into the system is a fine art.”

5 1 1 5 9 3 Audio Visual Live:

Electric Indigo will be touring with the material from the album as audiovisual live performance. Video clips from each track will be published as a monthly series, starting with 'Darcy in Paradise' in March 2018, ending with 'Perpetuate' in December 2018. Videos produced by Electric Indigo.

Artist Bio:

Susanne Kirchmayr aka Electric Indigo, born 1965 in Vienna, Austria, works as musician, composer and DJ. She has performed in about 39 countries across Europe, Asia, and the Americas and her name stands for an intelligent and distinguished interpretation of techno and electronic music. Electric Indigo creates music for concert spaces, clubs, occasionally for stage plays, sound installations and short films. In her compositions and live performances, she emphasizes the spatial placement and precise structures of subtly elaborated sounds, often generated with granular synthesis. Electric Indigo shuttles between Vienna and Berlin.

Electric Indigo started her DJ career in Vienna 1989 and lived in Berlin for three years [1993-1996] to work at the legendary Hard Wax record store. In those years, she began to produce music, first releases came out in 1993. In 1998, she founded female:pressure, a network and database for female, trans and non-binary artists in electronic music and digital arts that was awarded with an Honorary Mention at Prix Ars Electronica 2009. Amongst other prizes, she received the "outstanding artist award" in the computer music category in 2012 and the national grant for composition 2013 from the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture. She often holds workshops about granular synthesis and is frequently invited to talk about gender and diversity issues. Electric Indigo curates the “Atelier Elektronik” workshop series at the Darmstadt Summer Course for New Music 2018.

Important works in recent years include multichannel compositions like "Chiffres" [2012], “109.47 degrees" [2014], "MORPHEME" [2014/2015], "Barry Duffman" [2015] and “Tolkowsky’s Refraction” [2017]. Her compositions and commissioned works premiered at festivals like Wien Modern [Vienna], CTM and Heroines of Sound [Berlin].